AAUW Sonora, CA Branch

AAUW California was launched in San Francisco in 1886. The Sonora Branch was chartered in 1961. We are actively seeking new members and welcome your inquiries. We present programs throughout the year addressing the issues of equity for women as well as social programs. Click on the Events Tab above for the schedule. There are many interest groups that meet monthly in small groups for socializing. Click on the Interest Group section for more information. Come join us.

2017-2018 Branch Officers


2017 Scholarship Recipients

2016 Tech Trek


Left to right:  Widow Nolen – Foothill Leadership Academy;  Megan Bressel – Foothill Leadership Academy;  Cora Ethier – Sonora Elementary;  Sarah Bowman – Sonora Elementary.
Two girls missing from photo:  Delia Rico – Summerville Elementary; Daniela Arenas- Summerville Elementary.

2015 Speech Trek – 2nd place was won by Sydney Jones, sponsored by AAUW Sonora Branch.

The final 2015 speech contest was held during the AAUW CA Annual Meeting. Each finalist presented her 5-6 minute speech concerning the value of a 4 year college degree, and the judges were faced with a difficult task.

Pictured are (from left): 1st place winner Emma Harrington ($1500), sponsored by the Napa Branch; Sydney Jones, 2nd place ($1000), from the Sonora Branch; Ciera Miller, 3rd place ($500), sent by the Sacramento Branch.

This was the 8th annual Speech Trek, a memorial to Eleanor Stem Allen, whose husband Gray Allen is the contest sponsor.

The topic for the 2015-16 Speech Trek Contest is Gender Bias and Inequality.